The Udupi Sri Krishna Matha of Karnataka

Temples of Asia | | October 10, 2011 at 12:05 am


The Udupi Sri Krishna Matha is a temple situated at the Udupi Town of Karnataka, a state located on the southern part of India. As the name suggests, this Hindu temple is dedicated to Lord Krishna. Matha region of the temple is basically an ashram or holy place meant for carrying out worshipping and residing. Around the region of the actual matha, there are several other temples. Out of those temples, the oldest one is carved from stone and wood and was constructed almost 1,500 years ago.

Udupi Sri Krishna Matha

Udupi Sri Krishna Matha was established by Shri Madhwacharya, a Vaishnavite saint during 13th century. Madhwacharya also founded Dvaita school, a school teaching Vedanta. The founder of the temple, Madhwacharya had several students who learnt Vedanta directly from him. The first and the most famous of many disciples of Madhwacharya was Shri Sathya Theertha. The temple is also regarded as the center of ‘Dasa Sahitya’, a literary form originating in Udupi.

Udupi Sri Krishna Mutt Karnataka

According to one of the ancient legends related to this temple once a pious worshipper of Krishna named Kanakadasa was stopped from entering the temple. This action of the temple authority did not upset Kanakadasa; instead he started praying with extreme devotion. This devotion of Kanakadasa pleased Lord Krishna and the statue moved to the place where he was praying. Following this legend, even today people visiting the Udupi Sri Krishna Matha pray to Lord Krishna sitting in the place where Kanakadasa sat and prayed to Lord Krishna. This place is called Kanakanakhindi.

Udupi Sri Krishna Matha

Daily offerings to Lord Krishna and the other administrative works of this temple get managed by eight temples or Ashta Matha. Each one of the 8 temples takes the charge of the temple for a period of 2 years in cyclical order. The 8 temples together are referred to as ‘Krishna Matha’. The names of the 8 Matha housed by the Udupi Sri Krishna Matha are: Puttige, Pejavara, Palimaru, Sodhe, Adamaru, Krishnapura, Kaniyooru and Shirur.

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge